homepage logo

Fourteenth Amendment

By Staff | Sep 15, 2023

To the editor:

The third section of the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution(1868) reads:

“No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice-President, or hold any office, civil or military, under the United States, or under any State, who, having previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer of the United States, or as a member of any State legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any State, to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof. But Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each House, remove such disability.”

They can also be removed from office by citizens.

I’m thinking of far-right Republican traitors who repeatedly choose political party over democracy and who participated in trying to steal the 2020 presidential election. They should be disqualified from holding office: Trump, Scott, Rubio, DeSantis, Cammack, Diaz-Balart, Donalds, Dunn, Franklin, Gaetz, Gimenez, Mast, Posey, Rutherford, Steube and Webster. Would you think it OK if Democrats had done this in 2016 when Trump was elected? None of these people deserve to be in government jobs and it looks like, according to the 14th Amendment, they are probably ineligible to serve.

Check voting records before you vote. Stop supporting politicians who would impose the will of the minority on the rest of us in Florida and nationally.

Lynn A. Hagedorn

Cape Coral