homepage logo

Golden Apple finalists announced

By Staff | Jan 22, 2021

Golden Apple finalist Jamie Ayres of Cape Coral High School is surprised by the Foundation for Lee County Public Schools Friday. Photo courtesy of the Foundation for Lee County Public Schools

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools has announced the 34th Annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program Finalists. Finalists were surprised in their classrooms surrounded by students, administrators, and fellow educators on Friday.

“During this very trying time in our community and throughout the world, there has been an eye-opening recognition of the importance of the teaching profession,” said Marshall T. Bower Esq., president & CEO of The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools in a prepared starement. “Teachers have gone above and beyond to make sure they are meeting the needs of our community’s most valuable asset, our students. These 30 Golden Apple Finalists are outstanding representatives of all our great teachers.”

2021 The Golden Apple Award Finalists are:

Taylor Ashby – North Fort Myers High

Jamie Ayres – Cape Coral High

Yanet Barrero – North Fort Myers High

Alisa Brown – Hancock Creek Elementary

Dr. Nathan Buehler – Mirror Lakes Elementary

Joseph Camputaro – The Sanibel School

Christy Falk – Allen Park Elementary

Annette Gallipo – Bonita Springs High

Brittany Gonzalez – Tortuga Preserve Elementary

Colt Hartstein – Mariner High

Shelly Hassett – Dr. Carrie D Robinson Elementary

Anne Hester – East Lee County High

Melissa Holland – Tanglewood Elementary

Sarah Jones – Ida S Baker High

Sara Kizzire – Lehigh Senior High

Ashley Koehler – Cape Coral High

Louis Lillard – East Lee County High

Kaisha Louis – Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle

Shelby Massaro – Cypress Lake Middle

Heather Morse – Gulf Middle

Joni Pelletier – Treeline Elementary

Marylin Prysi – Villas Elementary

Jennie Rimes – Fort Myers Middle Academy

Krista Rivera – Gulf Middle

Kristen Santiago – Diplomat Middle

Barbara Scarnato – The Sanibel School

Lori Shaw – Cape Coral High

Trevor Tran – Fort Myers High

Bryan Williams – Mariner High

Dana Windey – Riverdale High

The Foundation’s Golden Apple Selection Committee, made up of community and business leaders, were charged with the task of reviewing and ranking applications to select 30 finalists.

Finalists are then personally interviewed and observed in their classrooms by the Golden Apple selection committee and six teachers. T

The Recipients will be honored at the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Banquet, a black-tie affair to be held at Caloosa Sound Convention Center & Amphitheater on Friday, April 16.