homepage logo

Incumbents out – Sawicki, Burch, Leon, Williams win

By Staff | Nov 5, 2013

Cape Coral voters ousted all three City Council incumbents Tuesday, voting in three political newcomers and a former member of the elected board.

With all city precincts reporting, challenger Marni Lin Sawicki edged past incumbent mayor John Sullivan with 50.36 percent of the vote; former mayor and council member Jim Burch culled 54.91 percent of the vote to beat David R. Headd in District 1; challenger Richard Leon took 56.29 percent of the vote to defeat incumbent Chris N. Chulakes-Leetz in District 4; and challenger Rick Williams earned 53.36 percent of the vote to beat incumbent Kevin McGrail in District 6.

The closest race was the mayoral race with just 113 votes separating the candidates and Sawicki prevailing by .72 percent of the vote.

As of press time, no recount was mandated although Lee County Elections Office officials said provisional ballots were not included in the tally. Per Florida statute, a recount is not mandated unless the race differential is .5 percent or less.

Turnout was just over 17 percent, according to the Elections Office, which included city of Fort Myers turnout in the reported total.

Results are not official until certified.