homepage logo

Pendergrass elected chair of Airport Board

By Staff | Jan 21, 2022

Commissioner Cecil Pendergrass

The Lee County Board of Port Commissioners elected Cecil L. Pendergrass as chair for 2022 during its first meeting held on Jan. 20. Ray Sandelli was elected as vice chair.

The board, composed of the five Lee County Commissioners, meets bi-monthly as the Board of Port Commissioners to set policy and direct the operations of Southwest Florida International Airport and Page Field in Fort Myers. The other commissioners include Brian Hamman, Frank Mann and Kevin Ruane.

Southwest Florida International Airport served more than 10.3 million passengers in 2021 and is one of the top 50 U.S. airports for passenger traffic. Page Field provides services to general and business aviation and accommodated more than 140,000 aircraft operations in 2021. No ad valorem (property) taxes are used for airport operation or construction and both airports are funded solely with revenue generated from their operations. For more information, please visit flylcpa.com or facebook.com/flyRSW.