homepage logo

Inauguration event set for Lee Board of County Commissioners

By Staff | Nov 9, 2022

An Inauguration ceremony for three members elected to the Lee Board of County Commissioners will be held 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, Nov. 15, in the Commission Chambers of the Old Lee County Courthouse, 2120 Main St., Fort Myers. A reception will follow at 9 a.m., and the regularly scheduled Board meeting will begin at 9:30 a.m. The public is invited to attend.

Taking the Oath of Office on Nov. 15 will be:

• District 2 Commissioner Cecil L. Pendergrass, who currently serves as Board chair and has been in office since 2012.

• District 4 Commissioner Brian Hamman, who has served since 2013.

• District 5 Commissioner Mike Greenwell, who has served since summer 2022.

Vice Chairman Ray Sandelli of District 3 and Commissioner Kevin Ruane of District 1 will welcome guests and provide closing remarks.

Maj. Carlyle Gargis, pastor at the Salvation Army of Lee, Hendry and Glades Counties, will provide the invocation. The A Cappella Group from Cypress Lake High School for the Arts, directed by Gary Stroh, will perform the national anthem and another selection.

At the 9:30 a.m. meeting, commissioners will select their new chair and vice chair for the coming year.

To receive updates from Lee County Government, sign up for the newsletter here: www.leegov.com/resources/newsletters.