homepage logo

Hamman elected as chair of airport board

By Staff | Jan 23, 2023

Brian Hamman

The Lee County Board of Port Commissioners elected Brian Hamman as chair for 2023 during its first meeting held on Jan. 19. Mike Greenwell was elected as vice chair. The board, composed of the five Lee County Commissioners, meets bi-monthly as the Board of Port Commissioners to set policy and direct the operations of Southwest Florida International Airport and Page Field in Fort Myers. The other commissioners include Cecil L. Pendergrass, Kevin Ruane and Ray Sandelli.

Southwest Florida International Airport served more than 10.3 million passengers in 2022 and is one of the top 50 U.S. airports for passenger traffic. Page Field provides services to general and business aviation and accommodated more than 170,000 aircraft operations in 2022. No ad valorem (property) taxes are used for airport operation or construction and both airports are funded solely with revenue generated from their operations. For more information, visit flylcpa.com or facebook.com/flyRSW.

Source: Lee County Board of Port Commissioners