homepage logo

Tickets selling fast for Entertainer of the Year contest at Cruisers

By Staff | Jan 24, 2020

PHOTO?PROVIDED Jessica Jade, the reigning South Florida Entertainer of the Year F.I.

The South Florida Entertainer of the Year F.I. contest is being held at Cruisers this weekend, featuring nine local contestants.

Greg Dye, director of South Florida Entertainer of the Year, said Entertainer of the Year is a national contest that started 30 years ago.

“This coming July would be the 30th consecutive pageant,” he said, adding that preliminaries are being held across the country. “Whoever wins this pageant will go to Louisville, Kentucky, to compete in the national pageant.”

The contest will be held at 8 p.m., Sunday, Jan. 26, at Cruisers, 1517 S.E. 47th Terrace. Tickets are $30 for a seat, $25 for general admission and can be purchased at the door.

“It’s a long night of entertainment, but very worth it,” Dye said.

The contestants will complete a presentation category, talent, creative evening wear and an on stage question. They are traveling from Fort Lauderdale, Tampa, Fort Myers and Cape Coral.

In addition to the local contestants, the contest will feature some National Entertainer of the Year winners, such as Danielle Hunter, Nikki Adam, Vanessa Demornay, Mykul Jay Valentine, Trinity the Tuck Taylor, Buff Faye and Jessica Jade, the South Florida Entertainer of the Year F.I. 2019.

The event was held at Cruisers last year with a sold-out crowd.

“The winner of our local pageant last year was the first runner-up at the national pageant, so I was pleased with that,” Dye said. “I have been with Entertainer of the Year for 30 years. I’m totally amazed. These people are very talented. It just amazes me. It’s an art that I have always appreciated.”

The winner of the contest will be awarded $1,000 cash. The winner will also receive an Entertainer of the Year crown, a jewelry package by Beauty and Elegance Designs, a custom Alicia Markstone gown, as well as paid entry into the 2020 National Entertainer of the Year contest and paid hotel accommodations in Louisville, Kentucky.